This bill--the Dori Slosberg and Katie Marchetti Safety Belt Law - amends Florida's safety belt statute to provide for primary enforcement of the safety belt law for operators and front seat passengers. Section 316.614, F.S., currently provides for primary enforcement of the safety belt law for all passengers under 18 years of age and secondary enforcement of the safety belt law for operators and front seat passengers over 18 years of age. The bill would allow law enforcement officers to stop motorists solely for not using their safety belts. A person violating this section would be cited for a nonmoving violation, punishable by a $30 fine. These provisions were approved by the Governor and take effect June 30, 2009.
Our Safety Partners
The Florida Transportation Builders' Association, Inc.