Skip to main content

Graduated License Laws

Teens

FLORIDA’S GRADUATED DRIVERS LICENSING LAW HAS 3 STAGES:

1. Learner’s License:
Teens must be at least 15 years old to apply for a Learner’s License. 

Documents needed to apply:

  • Proof that you completed a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course
  • A notarized parent consent form, or parent with you to sign it
  • Proof of identify, social security number, and address

What to expect:
Applicants will need to take a 50 question multiple-choice exam, a vision test, and a hearing test to prove they are ready to learn to drive.

Driving Privileges:
With a Learner’s License, teens can ONLY drive during daylight hours during the first 3 months, and until 10:00 PM after that. They must ALWAYS drive with a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.

 

2. Intermediate License:
You must be at least 16 years old AND have held a learner’s license for at least a year without any traffic convictions to apply. 

Documents needed to apply:

  • Learner’s License
  • Parents certification that you have had at least 50 hours of behind the wheel practice, with at least 10 of those hours being at night

What to expect:
Applicants will need to take a driving test to prove they are a safe driver and know the rules of the road.

Driving Privileges:

  • 16-year-olds can ONLY drive between 6:00 AM and 11:00 PM by themselves, unless they are traveling to and from work OR are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.
  • 17-year-olds can ONLY drive between 5:00 AM and 1:00 AM by themselves, unless they are traveling to and from work OR are accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old and occupies the front passenger seat.

 

3. Full Privilege License: 

When teens turn 18-years-old, restrictions are removed and they have a full privilege license. 

 

State-Imposed Consequences

Driving privileges can be restricted or revoked for a number of reasons including:

  • If you are under 21 and have a blood alcohol level of .02% or more
  • If you are truant in your school attendance
  • If you are under 18 and convicted for possession of tobacco or nicotine products
  • If you receive a moving traffic or speeding conviction

The bottom line for teen drivers: DRIVE SAFE and follow the rules of the road!

Our Safety Partners

  • Geico Philanthropic Foundation

  • The Florida Transportation Builders' Association, Inc.

  • FDOT, The Florida Department of Transportation, regulates public transportation in Florida.

  • Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, a cabinet agency of the Florida government

  • The Allstate Foundation creates prosperous communities to fulfill hopes and dreams.

  • Health Care District of Palm Beach County

  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration; United States Department of Transportation

  • Enterprise Holdings private foundation, giving back to communities.

  • The Express Car Wash, a proud sponsor of Dori Saves Lives and other community endeavors.

  • Interactive car driving simulator.

  • HNTB Corporation is an architecture, civil engineering consulting and construction management firm.

  • A global infrastructure advisory firm providing practical solutions.

  • Road construction company in Miami-Dade County, Florida.

  • Volkert: Engineering, environmental consulting, program management, and construction services.

  • TranSystems provides engineering and architectural planning, design and construction solutions.

Close